Day 14

Apple & Pumpkin Pie

Thanksgiving leftovers two-fer. Pie is another food that I make all the time but would never dream of eating. Apple pie breaks the first commandment–Thou Shalt Not Eat Cooked Fruit–and adds a scoop of texture nightmare. Pumpkin is the one-two punch of texture and questionable color. But putting all that aside, I tried both specimens. The flavors were fine, helped along by my friend cinnamon, but there’s really no getting over the mouth feel. The apple is a weird combination of mushy/firm and the pumpkin is a creamy mess. Bottom line: I see no reason to ever eat another slice of pie. At least not the post-meal-treat variety.

7 Comments to “Day 14”

  1. You should try a slice of Blueberry/Peach pie. There is a bakery near Roxanne’s. Too die for!!!

  2. You don’t like pie??? Get out!!! You may just be the first person I have ever met in my 39 years here on earth to not like any kind of pie! Wow~za!

  3. Speechless! Pie is one of my lifelong loves! Pie, cake, ice cream, cookies, cobblers….ohhh…it all makes me swoon. I one hand I feel terribly sorry for your taste buds, but on the other, you don’t have to deal with the temptation. Pie is a harlot.

  4. Am I to understand that prior to this you had gone all of your 39 years without eating apple pie? Even the McDonalds or Hostess pocket pies?

  5. Do you eat cooked tomatoes then?

  6. The way you talk about texture sounds to me as if you have a sensory disorder…. either way, sampling new foods is a way to over come it. I love this blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

