Day 18

Raw Onion Chutney

Never tried chutney before. Never even heard of it until a couple of years ago, when I was editing a recipe from a farm-to-table Thanksgiving article. (I’ve lived a very sheltered, meat-and-potatoes kind of life.) But apparently it’s a pretty common condiment in the civilized world, so I didn’t let on at the office that I thought it was some kind of rare and exotic dish.

Anyway, I ran across this recipe for raw onion chutney in Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, and decided to give it a try. (It’s probably not surprising that I learned of his existence relatively recently, too.) Pretty simple: red onion, red wine vinegar and a couple of spices. And it was good. Even though–like many of these other experiments–I served it out of context, this time with meatloaf and the inevitable frozen peas.

3 Comments to “Day 18”

  1. Raw onion?? So brave! I won’t be getting the guts to try this any time soon 🙂

  2. Raw onion still gets pulled off of everything I eat and handed to my husband. Not there yet.

  3. Oh, you shud try mango chutney. The real Indian version though – so different from your recipe! Saffron Village has a nice one.

Leave a Reply

