Day 25

Quinoa

More fun with grains. I substituted this for plain old rice in my “vegetarian special.” (As a coworker pointed out, my vegetarian special isn’t really vegetarian, since I simmer the rice in chicken broth. But this is as close as my family gets to a vegetarian menu selection.) Anyway, my fake vegetarian special is rice–or, in this case, quinoa–mixed with onions, black beans and diced tomatoes, topped with shredded cheese, and baked. The quinoa was good, but I’m not sure I liked it in the dish as much as my plain old brown rice. Another coworker turned me on to the idea of fried quinoa cakes and I can’t wait to try them out. Fried (almost) anything = yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

