Day 42

Pfeffernusse

I grabbed one of these cookies off a tray without knowing what the heck it was. It took some bravery to bite into it — there could have been anything underneath that confectioners’ sugar exterior. It could have even been jelly, for heaven’s sake. (I have a complicated relationship with jelly. I can eat grape jelly, as long as it’s a very thin layer on a peanut butter sandwich. And, in recent years, I’ve branched out into a couple other seed- and chunk-free varieties for my PB&J, like apple. Amazing personal growth.)

Anyhow, after a bite I still didn’t know what the heck it was. I asked the coworker who brought them in, and she had to cop to buying them. (Sorry, Linda, for exposing you.) So I did a little dumpster diving, or at least office garbage can diving, and found the wrapper. Pfeffernusse, by Archway. Now I had a name, but I still didn’t know what to think. It’s like a little spice cake wrapped in powdered sugar. Which would have been fine, except for the hint of black licorice. The molasses? A potential deal-breaker.

One Comment to “Day 42”

  1. Pfeffernusse…huh? I don’t think I have ever tried them. I will be on the look out. Good girl for trying them. 😉

Leave a Reply

