Day 90

Seaweed Salad

It’s never a good idea to take a big scoopful of food out of context. But repeated failure hasn’t seemed to stop me. This time it was a healthy dose of seaweed salad all by its lonesome. It’s seaweed, soy sauce and sesame seeds. Seemed innocent enough, but it didn’t go well. Such strong tasting stuff that it really needs a partner or two.

 

2 Comments to “Day 90”

  1. Ideas for a special 100th post!
    How about Foie Gras or Truffle Mousse? If you have a specialty shop or Whole Foods nearby look for Three Little Pigs or Fabrique Delice brand pates.
    Eat these with some very good bread. 🙂
    Or maybe some exciting new cheeses? Sheep’s milk cheeses like Ossau Iraty, Petit Basque, Pecorino Toscano, or Pecorino Sardo… all soooo good!
    Here’s a crazy good combo that may challenge your dislike of cooked fruit: Manchego Cheese (Spanish sheep’s milk) paired with Membrillo and some crusty bread. Membrillo is quince preserve, but it is in a solid jellied form that you can slice thinly and have with the cheese. Sounds weird but I swear it is great! Awesome sweet and salty combo.

    I have enjoyed your blog so much. Congratulations on over 3 months of new foods!

  2. Thanks so much!
    Pate really scares me … but I guess I’ll have to try it sometime. We don’t have anywhere to get it around here, though. At least I don’t think so. Day 100 falls on a Saturday, I think, so maybe I can get out to a restaurant.
    (Cheese scares me too, but that Manchego/Membrillo might be a winner. Maybe I can convince my husband to take me to Spain?)

Leave a Reply

