Day 100

Vietnamese Meatballs with Pickled Veggies

My family and I were supposed to celebrate this 100 day milestone with a dinner out, but in typical Niki fashion it didn’t quite work out as planned. The girls went on an all-day field trip to a natural history museum (The Wild Center in Tupper Lake — super cool place) with their father so I could get some writing done. But they came home tired and disheveled, and I was agitated and irritable, thanks to an article that seems to get worse and worse the longer I spend with it. Not a good combination for fine dining. So instead I made these Vietnamese meatballs (even though cranky cooking is always a bad idea). Everything in this recipe smells kind of terrible, especially the fish sauce and vinegar-drenched radish. So I was a bit scared. And cranky. But it was really good. I tried the meatballs first by themselves, and they were yummy. But then I tried them with the pickled veggies, and they were even yummier. God bless vinegar.

4 Comments to “Day 100”

  1. How did the kids like them?

  2. Hi, I just nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out: http://l2ee2l.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/me-you-like/ . Paying it forward. Aloha, The Mouse.

Leave a Reply

