Day 105

Cabbage Rolls

Completely embarrassing for this Polish-American girl to admit, but I’ve never had a cabbage roll. Been exposed to plenty of them, but I always shied away because of the cabbage part. Which is weird, since I’ve discovered I really like cabbage. I don’t know what the deal was … maybe it had something to do with my brother’s horrible cabbage-related gas. Bad memories, you know. Anyhow, I did kind of eat a cabbage roll at a polka festival that I was covering for the magazine I work for, simply because that was the only thing on the menu and I was starving. But I ate around the cabbage, so I don’t think that counts. This time I whipped some up myself (by the way, if you want to know how to peel a cabbage properly, watch this handy video), though it wasn’t my Little Nanny’s recipe. (I didn’t want to call around for her recipe, but I will hunt it up eventually.) Instead I used this recipe, except I added beef stock to the dish before baking. And it took a lot longer to bake than they said. But it was very good, cabbage and all. Will probably add these to my regular menu rotation.

4 Comments to “Day 105”

  1. Being polish-american myself, I can remember having these a few different times growing up. Did you, by chance, ever have to eat the lima bean soup with cabbage and fatback in it? That stuff is truly gag-worthy!!

  2. Gołąbki, for the win!

    I have to find a vegetarian version of these and try them myself!

  3. I’m not sure how good it is, but there’s a veggie version at allrecipes.com. Or you can just stuff the leaves with rice and tomatoes and onions, then maybe cover in a tomato sauce (I’ve seen recipes that use tomato juice).

Leave a Reply

