Day 110

Vegemite

Well, this is something I never thought I’d come across. Except in a Men at Work song from my youth. But work-buddy Lisa, in the clutches of a bizarre pregnancy craving, sent away for a jar of this Australian yeast paste. (Doesn’t sound very appetizing, does it?) I had no idea what to expect when she offered me a taste of it spread on buttered toast — especially since she told me not to smell it first. But it really wasn’t that bad. Kind of salty, with a strange, but not terrible, aftertaste. The healthy dose of butter on the super yummy sourdough toast didn’t hurt, either.

6 Comments to “Day 110”

  1. you need to have it on white bread, either fresh or toasted, with real butter applied liberally and the vegimite applied sparingly. A simple good thing

  2. I have to say, Vegemite would not be the first thing on my list, and I even like yeasty stuff… but you now have a healthy dose of B-vitamins thanks to trying it!

  3. My Aussie friends had me try Vegemite a few years back. They served it to me lightly spread on toast as well, but topped with melted cheddar cheese instead of with butter. It certainly didn’t look all that appetizing, but with the cheese it’s delicious! If you’re feeling better about cheese (I think I remember reading you are) then give it a try with cheddar sometime. 🙂

  4. I LOVE VEGEMITE! My boyfriend is from Australia, and he turned me on to the stuff a little earlier this year. I agree, when you first try it the aftertaste can be a little strange but, seriously, stick with it! Luckily, he has about a lifetime supply of it, otherwise I’d be sending away for it once every few weeks. It’s delicious!

  5. I love all things Australian, but after many years I’m still trying to wrap my arms around Vegemite. For us Yanks, it’s definitely an acquired taste.

  6. well Stephen, with that I guess you cant claim you love all things Australian, apart from meat pies, kangaroos and holden cars there are few things more Australian than Vegemite

Leave a Reply

