Day 122

Scallion Pancakes

I guess we’re having a pancake kind of week. These Chinese appetizers weren’t as successful as the buttermilk variety, but it’s entirely possible that I’d like them more if someone besides myself made them. As I’ve probably said before, my first swing at a recipe is rarely a home run. It was a snippet from Cooks Country, one of my all-time favorite magazines, so I’m going to take the blame for the poor execution. Plus I’ve been having some trouble acclimating to sesame oil. Seems like it should be a winner, what with my adoration for toasted sesame seeds. But the oil is so rich, it’s hard for me to eat much of whatever it’s in. And in a dipping sauce … well, it kind of coats the tongue. Moderately disturbing.

3 Comments to “Day 122”

  1. There is a difference between sesame oil and toasted sesame oil. Maybe you should try toasted sesame oil, it sounds like you would like that better!

  2. Yeah, that could be! I bought a cheapo brand and noticed it wasn’t as good as “Roland”, the brand my parents use. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

