Day 200

Nutri-Grain Cereal Bar (Blueberry)

When my oldest daughter was just a wee thing, I toted around at least one of these in every bag I had. The perfect snack for a mama on the run: prepackaged with pictures of fruit right on the label, plus the reassuring “nutri” in the title. Alex ate them like candy. (With all that corn syrup, they probably should be classified as candy.) But in all those years of never leaving home without a bar, it hadn’t crossed my mind to ingest one. Not with all that super-sweetened fruit puree lurking in the center. Breaks my “no cooked fruit” rule, which is elastic enough to include any sort of smooshed up fruit-like mixtures.

Last shopping trip, I saw a box of these and smiled. I remembered how they looked painted on Alex’s little toddler face, how they smelled like industrialized berries, how they got super smashed and sticky in the bottom of my purse. And I thought maybe I’d try one. So I took a bar to work today. Stared at it until I got good and hungry (this happens about every two hours) then dove in. As I was eating, I couldn’t believe I was doing it. Sure, I didn’t love the thing. But I had voluntarily eaten a banned substance. Without much complaining.

One Comment to “Day 200”

  1. a very momentous occasion, and day 200! congratulations 🙂

Leave a Reply

