Day 263

Borscht

Here it is: a jar of borscht from the dark recesses of my cupboard. (I didn’t want to hold work-buddy Annie to her promise of cooking me a batch … she’s even busier than me, with two kids under five and a seemingly unending series of small and large disasters.) It wasn’t the nightmare I thought was waiting for me all these weeks. But that doesn’t mean I liked it. Way sweeter than expected — and I have yet to meet a sweet soup I can stomach.

6 Comments to “Day 263”

  1. I HATE beets, but I have a killer recipe for borscht that I love. If you are interested in ever trying an authentic borscht, let me know and the recipe is yours.

  2. Okay…here it is:
    6 beets, peeled and diced
    3 carrots, coarsely grated
    1 white onion, chopped
    3 cups shredded cabbage
    1 3/4 cups canned vegetable broth
    1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
    3 tbsp lemon juice
    6 tbsp. low fat sour cream
    1/3 cup chopped fresh dill

    In a large saucepan, bring the beets, carrots, onion, cabbage, broth, water, and pepper to a boil.
    Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer until the beets are tender, 20-25 minutes. If the soup seems to thick, stir in 1/4 cup additional water.
    Remove from heat and stir in the lemon juice.
    To serve hot, ladle into individual bowls. Top each with 1 tbsp. of the sour cream and sprinkle with the dill (I use mint).
    To serve cold, cool to room temperature, then cover and refrigerate until thoroughly chilled at least 4 hours or up to 3 days. Ladle into cups and top with the sour cream and dill (mint).

    Hope you enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

