Day 281

Guava Jelly

Seems I couldn’t find anything I needed on a recent trip to the grocery store. Couldn’t find cotija cheese, couldn’t find the right kind of sausage, couldn’t find chaat masala (Bittman claims it’s not a problem if you don’t have chaat masala … just mix some up yourself with always easy to find amchoor and asafetida. Super helpful, Bittman.) Anyway, as I was grumbling around the store I came across canned octopus (we know how that turned out) and this little jar of guava jelly.

First I tried it with my old standby, the PB & J. But that didn’t count, since the PB completely overwhelmed the J. So I went with Plan B: a guava glaze on some pork. I used this recipe (just the glaze part, and I substituted lemon juice for orange juice). Since the end result was destined to be sweet meat, I was sure the whole thing would end badly. But it was surprisingly ungross. Could have used a kick of spice, though — which it would have had, if I had followed the entire recipe.

3 Comments to “Day 281”

  1. What about tasting a spoonful of it, au naturell??? Was it good?

    • Put a spoonful of straight jelly in my mouth? I’m not that brave! (Did you forget who you were talking to?) I tried a pinkie-tip, though. It’s pretty unoffending, as far a jellies go.

  2. I just like the valuable info you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here frequently. I’m fairly sure I’ll learn plenty of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

