Day 308

Cabbage Loaf

Never trust a food that isn’t bread but has “loaf” in its name. Not a good sign. Plus, I should have known when I found this egg-heavy recipe in a French cookbook that “cabbage loaf” was code for “cabbage quiche.” I realized my mistake when it came out of the oven looking seriously eggy. (And now my house smells like cabbage and eggs. Perfect.) I really didn’t want to put this in my mouth, even as I watched my husband happily shoveling it in. But it really wasn’t as bad as all that. Kinda bland, even.

4 Comments to “Day 308”

  1. Hmm I like quiche but cabbage quiche sounds gross. I bet your house smells delightful.

  2. Mm. I have to admit that this has piqued my curiosity. I think I’ll google cabble loaves.

    • I didn’t see anything online that compared … Those recipes included meat and sounded much better. This was from Simple French Food by Richard Olney. I can’t really recommend it. But if you’re feeling masochistic, here’s the recipe:
      1/2 cup flour
      Salt, pepper
      3 eggs
      2/3 cups milk
      1 tablespoon olive oil
      1 medium cabbage, quartered, core and ribs removed, parboiled for 30 minutes, drained and squeezed dry, and chopped

      Combine flour, seasonings, eggs, milk and olive oil, whisk until smooth. Let relax for half hour or so. Stir in chopped cabbage, pour into generously buttered baking dish. Bake at 400 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes, or until center of loaf is firm to the touch.

Leave a Reply

