Day 358

Chicken Shawarma (Kind of)

Fellow blogger Anne turned me on to this Middle Eastern treat, which is pita stuffed with yummy, thinly sliced, melt-in-your-mouth meat. Unless you make it yourself. Or unless I make it myself. This recipe (also in beef) gives some make-at-home tips. But meat and I have an understanding: I’m going to cook the crap out of it and it’s going to turn into leather. It’s a relationship that’s almost satisfying in its predictability. I like the heavy garlic aspect of this dish. And I’m definitely in favor of salty pickles. Technically, I think I’m still a shawarma virgin, but I’m going to give it a thumbs up anyway.

Leave a Reply

